What You Need to Know About DUIs in Phoenix and Arizona

If you are arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) in Arizona, it is important to understand the charges and what you can do to protect your rights and your future.

Blackwell Law Office, PLLC is an experienced criminal defense firm serving Phoenix and surrounding areas. With extensive, successful experience helping people charged with a DUI, we are familiar with the challenges our clients face. Our aim is to help you understand the charges against you and the importance of a successful defense.

Some basic facts about Arizona DUIs

Here are some basic facts about dealing with DUI in Phoenix or anywhere in Arizona:

  • DUI—more than a moment to forget: Many people who are arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs just want to move on. Plead guilty, accept the consequences, pay fines, and deal with the memory. Most of these people do not realize the long reach of a conviction. If you accept conviction without fighting for your rights under the law, you will earn a criminal record. Whenever you are asked on an employment, rental, educational, or other application if you have been convicted of a crime, the answer must be “yes.” Regardless of the facts of your case, you should contact an attorney with a focus in DUI law as soon as you are arrested, or suspect that you will be arrested.
  • The BAC level count: At a traffic stop or after arrest, you may be given a breath or blood test to determine your blood alcohol content (BAC). If your tests show you have a BAC of between .05 and .07%, law enforcement will suspect you are impaired. If your BAC comes back at .08% or over, you are presumed to be driving impaired and face arrest. If your BAC comes back at .15% or higher, you face a more serious charge of Extreme DUI. If you are driving impaired after ingesting drugs, not alcohol, you can still be arrested for DUI. Under age 21, any BAC results in suspension of driving privileges.
  • Penalties: The consequences of a DUI conviction are serious. For a first-time offense, you can be jailed for a minimum of 10 days, and the fine you pay will not be less than $1,250. You will also attend alcohol screening, education, and treatment at your own cost. In addition, community service may be ordered and you will be required to pay for the installation and operation of an ignition interlock device for up to a year. The device is attached to your steering wheel and randomly requires you to provide a breath sample while the car is running. Penalties, jail time, and fines escalate with repeat offenses or if you are charged with Extreme DUI.

Many factors can impact the circumstances — and consequences — of your case. Speak with an experienced Phoenix DUI defense attorney to learn about your options to protect your driving privileges and liberty, and avoid the consequences of a criminal record if possible.

Talk with an experienced criminal defense lawyer in Phoenix

Located on Roosevelt Street in Phoenix, the Blackwell Law Office, PLLC delivers aggressive defense when you are charged with DUI or other crimes in Arizona. With more than a decade of experience, Jocquese L. Blackwell carries the prestigious AV Preeminent rating from Martindale-Hubbell, along with being named an Arizona Rising Star by Super Lawyers. If you are charged with a DUI, call us at (480) 448-2415 or contact us today for a free initial consultation.